Leibniz-Zentrum Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Xprag Dojo

The project involves seven senior scientists (Yoichi Miyamoto (PI) of Osaka U, Masa Koizumi of Tohoku U, Hajime Ono of Tsuda Coll., and Hiromu Sakai of Waseda U in Japan, Uli Sauerland (PI) of ZAS, Sigrid Beck of Tübingen U and Kazuko Yatsushiro of ZAS in Germany). In addition, there are 13 early stage researchers (ESRs), funded by DAAD (Grant number 57245547) and JSPS.

The 20 researchers work in subgroups on about 9 different topics in cross-linguistic experimental pragmatics with a focus on German-Japanese comparison. The goal for each subgroup is to complete research in crosslinguistic experimental pragmatics, resulting in a publication each. The senior scientists provide facilities for different methods: Online methods - ERP, Mouse-tracking, Eye-tracking, Offline methods - experimental methods used in the language acquisition research.

Meetings generally consist of three days of joint discussion, the remaining days are used for discussions. The approximate dates of the meetings are as follows:

May 8-12, 2016: kick-off meeting in Berlin, Germany
November 2016: five-day meeting in Japan
April/May 2017: eight-day meeting in Germany
November 2017: six-day meeting in Japan

The topics and the members are as follows:

A1: Causality inference vs implicature: Luo (group leader), Tomlinson, Sakai
A2: Intonation & scope (all-negation scope & some-all scope): Sugawara (group leader), Oho, Yano, Meyer, Yatsushiro, (Tomlinson)
A3: Additive & contrastive marking: Bade (group leader), Sode, Nakanishi, Iida, Ono, Nambu, Nicolae, (Sauerland)

B1: Reportatives / particles / sequence of tense: Sode (group leader), Sugawara, Yatsushiro, (Hohaus, Sakai)
B2: Negation / object scope: Miyamoto (group leader), Sauerland, Tamura, Nicolae
B3: Aspectual coercion: Yano (group leader), Oho, Ono, Bade B4: Negative concord: Yatsushiro (group leader), Iida, Sode, Nicolae

C1: Connectives: Tomlinson (group leader), Tamura, Nicolae, Miyamoto, Sauerland, Yatsushiro
[C1b: Adjectives & degrees: Hohaus (group leader), Tamura, Beck
C2: Implicature cancellation: Meyer (group leader), Nakanishi, Iida, Bade, Ono, (Sauerland)

Contact information: Uli Sauerland xpragdojo(at)gmail.com


Japanese Participants

  • Yoichi Miyamoto (Osaka University, PI)
  • Masatoshi Koizumi (Tohoku University)
  • Hajime Ono (Tsudajuku University)
  • Hiromu Sakai (Waseda University)
  • Yasuhiro Iida (Osaka University)
  • Yingyi Luo (Waseda University)
  • Ryota Nakanishi (Osaka University)
  • Satoshi Nambu (Tsudajuku University)
  • Ayaka Sugawara (Mie University)
  • Ayaka Tamura (Tohoku University)
  • Atsushi Oho (Tohoku University)
  • Yasataka Yano (Tohoku University)

German participants

  • Uli Sauerland (PI, ZAS)
  • Sigrid Beck (University of Tübingen)
  • Kazuko Yatsushiro (ZAS)
  • Nadine Bade (University of Tübingen)
  • Vera Hohaus (University of Tübingen)
  • Marie-Christine Meyer (ZAS)
  • Andreea Nicolae (ZAS)
  • John Tomlinson (ZAS)
  • Frank Sode (University of Göttingen)